Cool Concept: Use the same name for all your profiles

I’m sure you’re thinking, “Duh — what other name was I going to use?”. I don’t mean any variation of your name, I mean the exact same extension for all profiles (LinkedIn, Facebook, Twitter, e-mail, etc.).

I got this tip from personal branding expert Dan Schawbel, but unfortunately it was too late for me. My profile names don’t match:

If you can make all your pages match, it’s an easy way to build your personal brand. Plus it helps people remember your information. If they know one page or address, they can figure them all out.

That’s also a good reason to go ahead and buy a domain name (www.yourname.com) with your name of choice. GoDaddy.com sells domains for under $10 a year.

2 responses to “Cool Concept: Use the same name for all your profiles

  1. This is a great tip. I changed my Linkedin URL and created a gmail (thanks to another tip you had on your blog about putting college e-mail addresses on resumes) with it. You’re blog is so great, I’m very excited about our next PRSSA meeting so you can share it with all our members!

    • tarheelsintransit

      Yay! Glad it could help you. And I’m super-excited about the PRSSA meeting, too! Can’t wait to hear more J-Schoolers tweeting, lol. Thanks, Allison 🙂

Leave a Reply

